Immuno Kryptonite

There are lots of treatments that can help treat the symptoms of AS. I’m going to try to cover as many of them as possible eventually, but one of the things that I see the most questions about online are Anti-TNF treatments.

Superman and KryptoniteThey’re also the drugs that have had the greatest effect on my life, so today I’m going to talk about them. Don’t forget, I’m not a doctor, rheumatologist or medical professional. I have a grand total of 9 GCSEs, an NVQ in customer service and a MUG award that I was given when I worked at Starbucks for being friendly :).

So please feel free to listen to my experiences, but never change your treatment without first speaking to your Rheumatology team. AS affects everyone differently, and you may (OK – probably) have have other underlying conditions. Our bodies are definitely different and so will be affected differently.

Right, remember back in my first post I said that my immune system is too good? Well, think of it as a superhero. Imagine Superman got bored because he beat all the bad guys so he started using his heat vision on people who chewed with their mouth open, or freeze breath on people who truly felt that Mandonna was better than Kylie. (I mean really!? Seriously!?) Continue reading